Cats: The Meow-sical in Melbourne

IMG_3886

One of the longest-running musicals. One of the classics. I wasn’t going to miss it.

I’ve always wanted to see this musical ever since I heard that they were visiting Melbourne last year. Unfortunately, I was in Sydney for most of December so *almost* missed out seeing this. But the feline gods were on my side and I finally got to attend the Jellicle Ball on its final night in Melbourne on the 24th of January 2015.

And oh what a ball it was. There was dancing and singing and fight scenes and magic and more!

I must admit I struggled a bit in understanding what the story was because I thought it wasn’t that fluid. I’m used to seeing musicals with clear storylines where I know what was going to happen next and each scene progressed to the next, and Cats was not anything like that. I knew it was about the Jellicle Tribe coming together to select the one cat who deserves to ascend to the Heaviside Layer and be reborn to a new life, but I somehow didn’t see that in the beginning. What I saw was the introduction of one cat after the other with their own unique characteristics.

And then it hit me. I finally understood. That’s what it was. The selection process of the one cat told through the introduction of the different cats! I must say I was disappointed at myself for not catching this sooner. But there it was before me, the different Jellicle cats very distinct from each other, all with their endearing-annoying-fascinating facets vying to be the one that Old Deuteronomy will choose to be sent to the Heaviside Layer. Ultimately, it was Grizabella The Glamour Cat who was selected (although I must say I liked Victoria the White Cat and Skimbleshanks better :p).

I can easily why this is one of the most-loved musicals there is. This debuted decades ago and I can only imagine how it wowed the audience as it still does now. Glad I got to know the Jellicle Cats!

Now who wants some caviar? ^_^

 

Leave a Reply

